We’re only young once.

wanderlust |ˈwändərˌləst| noun – a strong desire to travel

In Summer 2008 I went to Europe for the first time; England, Wales, and Ireland to be specific. I loved absolutely everything about those countries – the architecture of the buildings, all of the history those countries have, the people I met, the new food I tried, the pubs I went to, everything. On my flight home I cried and slept, played video games, and cried some more.
I had always wanted to go to Europe and see as much as I could, and my short two-week visit intensified my desire to go back more than I could have imagined.
Going from walking around Stonehenge and gaping at Bath Abbey to walking around Lansing, MI was not an easy transition for me. Even big cities like Chicago had lost their splendor, and it was hard to really enjoy myself because I couldn’t stop comparing it to London, and how I had seen buildings that were older than the United States of America.
I wish I could just go back. I have no real responsibilities keeping me at home – no children, no husband, or house payments or anything significant that would deem me irresponsible for packing up and taking off. The only reason I have remained here, is because I’m a full-time student (I guess that’s a responsibility, but traveling is more important to me) with a part-time job.
My paychecks can’t exactly keep up with my lifestyle, and the bills I do have to pay claim most of my paychecks anyway, so it’s very difficult to try to save money.

I haven’t been everywhere, but it’s on my list.

Being in my prime years and being stuck in Michigan makes me antsy. It’s not just Europe I want to go to – it’s everywhere. South America, northern parts of Canada, the west and northeastern coasts of the US, Australia… I could go on forever.
But having a fierce compulsion to travel when you have no money is almost heart breaking. As a self-sufficient person going through school and paying her bills on her own without any financial help from parents, I’m stuck until I graduate, for the most part. Which is good, I guess, because finishing college is important and if I don’t, I won’t be able to get a job that would pay me well enough so that I could do all of the traveling that I am so desperately wanting.
I guess there’s just a fear that I might not make it to all of the places I want to go. Many adults have told me that they always regretted not traveling more before settling down with a family and a career, and honestly I have a long to-do list before I settle down.
Until then, I suppose I should just enjoy what is around me, and just try harder to save money so I can get out of here while I’m still young enough to be able to run around all over the globe. I need to think outside of the box until then, and find new places to discover that won’t take my entire savings account.

I don’t mean to sound like I’m complaining. Many people barely even make it out of the town they live in, let alone go half way around the world. I just feel like there is so much I am missing out on, and I want to see it all.
As much as I love the US, it’s predictable. I feel extremely unfulfilled and restless. I want to see and learn new things.
I welcome culture shock with open arms.

Leave a comment