Why I Deleted Facebook.

Much of my day is wasted on leisure activities that don’t necessarily enrich my life in any way. Sometimes, that’s fine. I’m busy and spend most of my daylight hours working. Sitting on my butt and watching TV is sometimes exactly what I need to do to relax after a long day.
But what about all of that extra stuff I spend my time doing? What could I be doing instead of flipping and back forth between Facebook and news sites and blogs?

I deactivated my Facebook because I grew tired of the superficial relationships being shoved in my face every day. Instead of posting on someone’s wall, I’ll just call or text them. I don’t need my business and personal communications out there for all of Facebook to see. I don’t even truly know/see/care about half of the people I’m friends with. I believe human beings aren’t designed to handle so many interactions at once.

My opinion on Facebook had been declining for a few months already – I logged in to see if I had notifications and who was online, then I would get off. Three minutes later I’d flip back, then go to a different website. Repeat. My interaction with it was minimal at best so I just decided to deactivate it and get it out of here for good. It’s time for me to focus on other things that are more important: my health, fitness, and well-being.

The number of whole foods I’ve been buying is increasing and I’m finally attempting to cook actual meals that are healthy and full of everything my body needs to function properly. I need to get back to the gym, but birthday celebrations and vacations, along with lack of sleep, have kept me away. I finally made going to work out in the morning a priority, and now I’m slipping.

Overall, it has been a good month. At least 4 of my friends have also gotten rid of their Facebooks and for the most part we communicate on a different level now, and actually enjoy spending time with other human beings. I know there is some type of value for this website, but seeing as all of my friends live pretty close to me I really see no use for it. If I want to know what’s going on in someone’s life, I can just talk to them about it.

This won’t last forever though, I’m guessing. If I end up moving this summer I’ll probably reactivate it so I don’t stay completely out of the loop, but my friends list will be greatly reduced and the amount of content I have will be minimal. Luckily Facebook saves everything you have (sarcasm) so starting right back up would be no problem.

I believe this site will be less of a huge deal in 5-10 years when people are used to it and seeing content on the site that doesn’t always show someone in their best light – but who doesn’t have ridiculous stuff on their profile? I don’t want to get in trouble for something a friend might have posted a while ago that could be taken or interpreted the wrong way.

Why do you have to live your life for the whole world to see? Sharing pictures and info with your friends is fun but Facebook blew up into something it shouldn’t have. I believe it is taken way too seriously.

Like I said, I doubt my deactivation will be forever… Just until I get my life and my purpose established. Facebook is just one less thing to slow me down. Instead of sitting on the computer when I am home, I can read, do my homework, clean, cook, drink or whatever I feel like doing.

Why waste my time on a website I consider unpleasant and pointless? Why not do something useful with my time instead?

cheers.

Leave a comment