The current state of the world…

… couldn’t be more depressing.

Although the human race and their respective territories have hardly operated at maximum efficiency, the general pattern seems to point practically everyone in a downward slope with the declining morality of those in positions of power around the world.

People cannot afford food, clean water, or even a roof over their heads… arguably the most essential aspects a person needs to live and thrive.

I imagine congressmen and CEOs sitting back in their lush homes laughing at people protesting Wall Street and the iron grip money has within politics, knowing that they control the people who wield the power to affect our lives.

Our country is taking leaps backward as basic human rights are being challenged by lunatics using the Bible to dictate how people live their lives. If I recall the First Amendment correctly, we cannot establish a national religion to govern our way of life. I don’t subscribe to the Bible, and I can easily say that many people do not, yet we cannot marry whomever we want because ‘the bible says it’s for men and women only.’
Follow whichever religious doctrine you’d like and live your life according to how it says you should, but it should end there. Telling millions of people you don’t know how they should live is far beyond your duty as a fellow human being.

I’m wondering where we lost it as a society – the rich are literally getting richer and the poor are indeed getting poorer. Why have such an excessive amount of money if it will do nothing beyond give you bragging rights and an inflated sense of self-worth?

If I had a seemingly unlimited amount of money, I would feel awful sitting by while so many others struggle. Have humans really gone beyond the point of caring for others so much that they can ignore those of ill fortune while they sit on money they will never be able to spend or even use?

I realize I am no economist, business owner or politician and I can only vaguely grasp the idea of what is happening in our country, but from what I can tell it is shit… and around the world, it is even worse.

cheers.

Leave a comment